Behind Me

Please stop pushing me to the front
I don’t want to be out there
I know you mean well
I know you never want to hold me back
I love you for it
I know what my mother said
I am not my mother
Being in the front is what I was told I should be
I have never felt comfortable out there just miserably playing the part without direction
I know you are content to be the man behind the woman
I don’t want you behind me
I want to follow you
I want to serve you
I want to be under your wing
I want to feel safe in your protection
I want to carry you with me every day in my thoughts and actions
I want to feel your presence as I ask what would Daddy do
Please trust that I have found my calling
It was behind me all along
 

One thought on “Behind Me

Leave a Reply

