Big Step – 25 years ago

Why is it that we tend to reminisce about things on what we consider “milestone” years? 

It was twenty five years ago I think around the end of March. I had been dating this guy for three and a half years. All of high school to that point. I had a promise ring and he was near graduating and already enlisted. I knew I needed to end it before he left. I was not happy for sometime but oh how I hate confrontation. So finally one Friday he was waiting for me when I got off work and I ended it there in the parking lot giving back the ring and insisting he not follow me home. 

It was probably the hardest thing I had done at the point in my life but I felt such relief. The experiences in the following months were possible because I took that big step. 

6 thoughts on “Big Step – 25 years ago

Leave a Reply

